Personal tools
You are here: Home Administration Physics Department Events Archives 2019 April Herman Z. Cummins Lecture: Jörg Wrachtrup, Nanoscale Quantum Sensing

Herman Z. Cummins Lecture: Jörg Wrachtrup, Nanoscale Quantum Sensing

Filed under:
Herman Z. Cummins Lecture: Jörg Wrachtrup, Nanoscale Quantum Sensing
When Apr 24, 2019
from 04:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Where ASRC Auditorium South Campus
Contact Name
Contact Phone 212-650-7443
Add event to calendar vCal

Nanoscale Quantum Sensing

Jörg Wrachtrup
Institute for Quantum Science and Technology and Center for Applied Quantum Technologies, University of Stuttgart, Germany

The accuracy of measurements is limited by quantum mechanics. Ingenious demonstrations, like measuring gravitational fields or time have explored accuracy limits and reached fundamental obstructions. Yet, precision measurements so far are restricted to macroscale and dedicated environments. In the talk I will discuss spin quantum sensors comprising a single electron spin plus a nuclear spin quantum register. With such a system we measure a variety of quantities including electric and magnetic fields, temperature, and force. We use nuclear spins to enhance the measurement accuracy of the electron spin e.g. via quantum error correction, as ancillary quantum bits for memory or quantum Fourier transformation. I will present a variety of applications ranging from quantum simulations to imaging of magnetic nanostructures.

Jörg Wrachtrup, Professor and Director of the 3rd Institute of Physics and the Center for Applied Quantum Science, University of Stuttgart (since 2000) as well as Max Planck fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research Stuttgart, has pioneered the field of single spin physics. By combining optics and spin resonance he discovered defects in insulators, most notably defects in diamond, as a valuable system for quantum information processing. His current research interest is in application of quantum enhanced sensing in biological, medical as well as material sciences. Professor Wrachtrup has published close to 300 papers in leading refereed journals.  He received the Leibniz Prize (2012) of the German Science Foundation, the Bruker Prize (2013) and the Max Planck Research Award (2014). He is a member of the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Science and has continuously been listed as “Highly Cited Researcher” since 2014.


Herman Z. Cummins (1933 – 2010) joined the Physics Department of City College in 1974 as a Distinguished Professor of Physics. His cutting-edge investigations cover statistics of radiation-matter interactions, as well as elastic, quasi-elastic and inelastic light scattering (Rayleigh, Brillouin and Raman). His seminal studies elucidated physical mechanisms in diverse areas, such as, paraelectric-ferroelectric phase transitions, commensurate-incommensurate transitions, exciton and polariton formation and dynamics, liquid glass and colloidal systems. He received numerous honors for his scientific contributions. He was elected a Member of the US National Academy of Sciences (1996); a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (2001), and to the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars (2010). He was awarded the Docteur es Sciences, honoris causa, by the Universite de Paris, and a Senior Fellowship by the Humboldt Foundation. Earlier he received the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (1969-72), Guggenheim Fellowship (1984), and was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society and the New York Academy of Sciences.